MP bags 3 national awards under Sakshar Bharat Yojana

08 Sep 2017
MP bags 3 national awards under Sakshar Bharat Yojana

Madhya Pradesh today bagged three national awards in the field of education. Vice President Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu today gave away the Sakshar Bharat Awards for the year 2017 at a function organised at Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi. Union Human Resource Development Minister Shri Prakash Javdekar was also present on the occasion. Madhya Pradesh was selected for its outstanding performance of district and State Resource Centre under Sakshar Bharat Yojna in year 2016-17 by the Department of School Education and Literacy under Ministry of Human Resource Development.

Under State category Madhya Pradesh’s Literacy Mission Bhopal bagged the first prize. Literacy Mission Director Shri Lokesh Kumar Jatav, the then Additional Director Smt. Sheela Dahima and Mission Co-ordinator received the award.

Tikamgarh district bagged the award under the Zila Lok Shiksha Samiti category. Tikamgarh District Panchayat Chairman Shri Parvatlal Ahirwar and District Adult Education Officer Shri R.K. Pastor received the awards. Under Non Government Organisations category, State Resource Centre Indore was awarded. Smt. Anjali Agarwal received the award.

It may be noted that 24 lakh 61 thousand adult illiterates of Madhya Pradesh have acquired success in literacy examination after training in year 2016-17. Nearly 24 thousand adult illiterates have emerged as new-literates in 31 Sansad Adarsh Grams of the state.