Mukhya Mantri Medhavi Vidhyarthi Yojana now Extended to Non-Government Colleges Too

03 Nov 2017
Mukhya Mantri Medhavi Vidhyarthi Yojana now Extended to Non-Government Colleges Too

Mukhya Mantri Medhavi Vidhyarthi Yojana will be extended now in non-government colleges too. This scheme was applicable in government colleges earlier. This decision was taken in a review meeting held by the Chief Minister here today. Currently, this scheme has been implemented in 450 government colleges of the state. Now 800 private colleges will also be included in the scheme. Chief Secretary Shri B.P. Singh was also present in the meeting.

The benefit of the scheme will be extended to the meritorious students on getting admissions in undergraduate courses being conducted by the non-government colleges of the state provided they secure over 75 percent marks in 12th examination. A total of 9 thousand students will be benefitted this year by this scheme.

CM Chouhan mentioned that the benefit of this decision should be given to the students from this session itself. The Mukhya Mantri Medhavi Vidhyarthi Yojana is an ambitious scheme to fulfill the dreams of the meritorious students. Courses which give guarantee for employment should be encouraged under the scheme. The students who have secured over 75 percent marks in 12th examination during the last 2 years have been considered eligible for the scheme. Such kind of students should not be deprived of the benefit of the scheme. Fee distribution work should be carried out within the stipulated time limit. The scheme will be reviewed every month, he added.

It was informed that 26 thousand meritorious students who have taken admissions in the colleges have already been benefitted till now under the scheme. Applications have been submitted by 1,092 students for engineering courses, 697 students for medical courses, 60 students for law course and 40 students who are taking admissions in educational institutions of national level under the scheme.

Additional Chief Secretary Finance Shri A.P. Shrivastava, Principal Secretary Technical Education Shri Sanjay Bandopadhyaya, Principal Secretary Health Smt. Gouri Singh, Principal Secretary to CM Shri S.K. Mishra, Commissioner Higher Education Shri Neeraj Mandloi, Secretary to CM Shri Vivek Agrawal and concerned Officers were present in the meeting.